Skip to main content Skip to footer


Virginia’s Home and Community Based Services Waiver programs

Virginia Medicaid provides two types of waivers:

  1. Developmental Disability Waivers (DDW)

Virginia has three waivers for individuals with a developmental disability: 

  • Building Independence for individuals 18 and older, 
  • Family & Individual Support  
  • Community Living 

Virginia Medicaid administers DD Waivers jointly with the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. There is a waiting list for these waivers, and the slots are assigned based on urgency of need. To apply for DD Waiver services, contact your local Community Services Board (CSB) or visit the Virginia Community Services Board website to locate the CSB in your community.

  1. Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus Waiver

The CCC Plus Waiver serves all ages and does not have a waiting list. The waiver provides care in the home and community rather than in a nursing facility or other specialized care medical facility. The CCC Plus Waiver provides supports and service options for successful living, nursing, respite, assistive technology and environmental modifications. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) oversees the Medicaid Long-term Services and Supports Screening Process in Virginia to evaluate what services may be available to an individual, including services through the CCC Plus waiver. 

Cookie Notice

Find out more about how this website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience.